Presenting my capstone project for SCA Mentorship program

Presenting my capstone project for SCA Mentorship program

Finally, the end of the three months for the She Code Africa Mentorship program (cohort 4 JavaScript track) is here. Its been engaging and resourceful. I am here to present my capstone project for the program. Though this project was chosen by our group, we are required to work on individually.

My capstone project is a food recipe web application. The application is a sort of clone from a tutorial presented by Jonas Schmedtmann.

The API:

This food recipe application API was taken from the forkify API. It has two endpoints, one for fetching the search and the other for fetching the recipe IDs. Working with this API would be the second time working with APIs for me all courtesy of this program.

Basic functionalities:

My application has the basic functionalities of:

  • Displaying random recipes on load.

  • Searching for recipes.

  • Loader

  • Clicking on any recipe to view the details about the recipe.

  • Directions button which loads to a blank page where the publisher of the recipe has a page for showing how to cook the recipe.

  • Pagination for the displayed recipe section.

Working on the project:

To achieve these functionalities, I made use of functions mainly. Other concepts that played out in building the application include:

  • Variables
  • Loop
  • Arrow functions
  • EventListeners
  • Array
  • object
  • Function parameters
  • DOM manipulation
  • API fetch
  • Conditionals etc.

Materials used

I made good use of google search while working on this project. With the searches I got videos, tutorials, and articles that helped me each time I want to do something I am not familiar with.

Networking among teammates

Working on this project gave me the soft-skill of networking among teammates. As its said no one is an island of knowledge so we had great networking while working on the project. Not forgetting my mentor who provided great guidelines when needed.

Conclusion

It is really true that practice is the real test of knowledge. This project helped me learn as well as expose the areas I still need to work on on my skill to grow. The end of the program is not the end of this project as I hope to add more functionalities to it, and to learn more from it.

I would like to use this opportunity to extend my heartfelt gratitude to the organizers of the She Code Africa Mentorship Program, for their selfless service to the developer community. And to my mentor Temiloluwa Odumosu for his tolerance and efforts towards my growth. My POC, Ebunoluwa Sofolabo for always advocating on my behalf. My colleagues in my team whom I worked together for these past months(Motunrayo, Orbie, and Damilola). I have found friendship in you all. I would never forget.

Thanks also, to you my readers. You all are the best.